Posted by: learningwoman | September 3, 2008

We’re back

We’ve been back for a week. It was fabulous and lovely and also a little confusing. This trip threw up more questions than it answered about when/where and how we might move back to Australia.

I keep thinking to write about it but every time I get here and start to type, one or other of my boys begin a small but escalating series of wind-ups upon the other, necessitating my intervention. They are used to much outside activity now and are chafing against being inside for longer than five minutes at a time. They need to go to school.

Luckily S. goes back tomorrow and Z. starts at his new pre-school next Tuesday. We’ve had a great time with them but the time has come for routine to be restored before we all go a bit lunatic.

When they asked me what we going to do today, their little faces shining with expectation, and I told them we need to clear their cupboards of clothes that don’t fit them and go to the charity shop down the road, they were outraged. But seriously, their cupboards are so full of clothes now, most of them in the wrong sizes, that I haven’t been able to unpack S’s bag yet and having piles of clothes on the floor is driving me crazy. Not least of all because they keep jumping in them and strewing them across the bedrooms, landing, bathroom etc…

Since we’ve been back, we’ve tramped in the woods in the rain, skateboarded in the park, been to the playground many times, visited with friends and now the time has come. The big holiday anticlimax. Damn.

A. has gone to Amsterdam to watch the Stray Cats in concert and won’t be back until tomorrow, arriving safely after the morning school run. Lucky man. I love Amsterdam.

Right. The small male people in the house have started their half-hourly playfight, which will inevitably turn into something that will require my attention, so I’ll get a head start and take them upstairs with me.

I’m looking forward to having more than ten minutes to write. 🙂

Responses

  1. Glad you had a great time and that sort of sanity will gradually be restored by the wonders of school 🙂

    Thanks for your message. I haven’t hit anyone yet, I’m proud to announce!

    Kx

  2. Welcome back!

  3. Hi there,

    Sorry to be a bit off topic here, but I am the author of a book called ‘A Place in My Country: In Search of a Rural Dream.’

    A blogger (Katyboo1’s Weblog) recently posted a review of my book on Amazon.co.uk and on her own blog.

    http://katyboo1.wordpress.com/2008/09/16/a-place-in-my-country/

    I hope you don’t mind but I thought it might therefore appeal to you too, as she has you on her blogroll.

    Here’s the Amazon reference but it is published by Phoenix in paperback and was published by Weidenfeld & Nicholson last year.

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Place-My-Country-Search-Rural/dp/0753823888/ref=pd_sbs_b_title_14

    Anyway, there it is. Again, hope you don’t object to this shameless self-promotion.

    Kind regards,
    Ian
    http://www.ianwalthew.com
    http://www.farmblogs.blogspot.com

    P.S My wife is Australian, and her take on life in rural England is very much a part of the book. We haven’t moved there, we’re now in rural France http://www.aplaceintheauvergne.blogspot.com


Leave a Reply

Categories

