Posted by: learningwoman | July 17, 2008

In which a lot of time is spent in the laundry

I was woken this morning by A. asking in an urgent voice for me to “Come and be with S.” so he could go down to Z.

I walked into the bathroom to find S. sitting on the toilet, his face the colour of parchment, holding a plastic container in his hand, into which he was dry heaving. When he looked up at me, his eyes were dark and sunken, his expression pained and yet somehow resigned.

I should have known. When he was touchy and shouty and annoyed by everything yesterday, I should have known.

When he woke me in the night to go for a poo I should have known.

You’d think I’d know the signs by now but it’s been months since he was sick and I’ve been lulled into what turns out to be a false sense of security. It was his school picnic today too, poor babe.

So there’s a lot of washing to do. Towels, bedclothes, pyjamas etc…

Right, I’m off to hug him, then occupy Z, so S. doesn’t get jumped on.

Responses

  1. Sympathy, empathy, cake and laundry powder to you. We are sisters in vomit!

  2. Thank you Katy, although at this stage of befuddlement, it’s just as likely that I’ll eat the laundry powder and wash the clothes with the cake!

  3. aw, poor baby. Don’t eat the laundry powder. Chocolate is much better. 🙂

  4. munch….munch… You’re right princess, it is. I’m testing the theory right now. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

