Posted by: learningwoman | May 4, 2008

Laughing boy

Last night after the boys had gone to bed and A. and I were downstairs watching something forgettable but soothing on the TV, we heard movement upstairs. I thought it must be S. getting up to go to the toilet, so I didn’t move until I heard what sounded like loud sobbing.

I rushed up, to find S. running up and down the landing, pyjamas around his ankles, trailing out behind him. He looked just like E.T. 🙂

He wasn’t crying at all, he was laughing so hard he could hardly breathe and every now and then his little body would bend in two with mirth. You know when you start laughing and then can’t stop? Then everything becomes funny, even when it really isn’t? It was that kind of laugh.

I asked him what he was laughing about but he couldn’t tell me, although he attempted an explanation which featured a footballer and some curry, before he fell on the floor, rolling about.

I suddenly realised he was actually still asleep! I got his PJ’s back on, took him to the toilet, laughing all the while, (Me too, it was infectious) and then settled him back into bed. He closed his eyes and went back to sleep and this morning didn’t remember a thing about it.

I love it. I love him. He laughs a lot when he’s awake but how fabulous to have dreams that send him into paroxysms of laughter too.

That’s our boy 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

