Posted by: learningwoman | March 28, 2008

Doctor Who ‘Blink’

I’ve just been to collect S. from his friend’s house. When Z. and I got there,  it was to find the kids watching Doctor Who. The episode was ‘Blink’, an episode that some adult friends of mine won’t watch on their own!

I know that lots of parents let their kids watch all sorts of stuff, including this, but S. is seven and already freaks out at quite innocuous (I think) shows, like Scooby Doo.

‘Blink’, for those who haven’t seen it, is about statues that come to life when you aren’t looking at them. They look like weeping angels but they have sharp fangs and clawed nails and come at the characters in the programme like vampiric creatures. They also transport people into the past where they live their whole lives, never seeing their families again….

Yes, I’ve seen it, and enjoyed it immensely. I love Doctor Who but I’m thirty-eight and it’s my opinion that the dialogue and plot is what stops it from just being a horror show. The dialogue is not what S. was concentrating on……at all.

It turns out that his friend’s mother was unaware of what they were watching. Maybe she wouldn’t have been worried if she had. Lots of parents are fine with their kids watching Doctor Who, which is okay, as long as their kids don’t spend the next few nights frightened to go to bed for fear of the creatures in it.

I’m not upset with the mother per se, I just wish I’d known, so that I could have asked her not to put it on while he was there. He was nervous walking down the stairwell on the way out of her flat for goodness’ sakes! Who knows what it’ll be like at bed time.

We’ve talked about the fact that it’s just a story that someone made up and got actors to play but it’s very effectively made and the visual stuff alone will stay with him for a while.

He’s been talking about it non-stop ever since we left.

I know I can’t protect him from everything and I wouldn’t want to but it’s my responsibility to protect him from some things until he’s old enough to make sense of them.

This is one of them.

Responses

  1. Amen.

    We don’t have that show on this side of the pond, but there are many, many like it.

    They’ll grow up soon enough. Perhaps asking that the telly be kept off on a playdate would be a good idea and encourage more creative play.

    I hope bedtime – and overnight – goes smoothly!

  2. Hi BTW, they don’t usually watch TV at this friend’s house, they have lots of creative play, so this time was an exception rather than the rule. Pity the choice of show wasn’t more closely monitored though……
    He fell asleep on the couch next to me…… 🙂

  3. I’m very, very protective of what my kids watch. I know lots of moms with similar concerns who simply disallow all television; I respect that choice, but decided instead to allow TV but police it strictly and be available for questions and processing when they inevitably end up exposed to something I don’t approve of/enjoy/appreciate.

    It’s an ongoing struggle… and my eldest just came home from an afternoon at her friend’s house, talking about new toys and TV shows and ideas… it never gets easy, it seems.

  4. I started watching Dr Who when I was 4. The first story that I ever saw was Planet of the Spiders where Jon Pertwee dies at the end. It made an impression.

    I had bad arachnophobia for years afterwards but I never regretted having seen it.

    My four year old (and his 7 y.o. brother) love Dr Who. Blink was one of their favorites. The episode that has scared them the most out of the new series was “The Girl in the Fireplace” – because of the masks, which actually aren’t exactly scary…

    Go figure.

    My kids know what is real and what isn’t because I show them how special effects are done. I have no problem with fantasy monsters, it’s films with real life ones in them, like JAWS, that I’d tend to avoid.

  5. Hi Kate, I’m protective too I guess. We’ve had many conversations in the past few days about this episode. Not all of the series is like this one.
    Apart from his desire for a night light, there don’t seem to be any lasting effects……

    Hi Gavin,
    I know what you mean. I watched Dr Who when I was little too….and got scared! 🙂
    I guess my problem with my son watching it is that although he knows what’s real, he seems to get scared anyway and apart from not wanting him to feel unnecessarily terrified, I don’t want to spend all my precious free evenings soothing him for ages!
    Oh well. It isn’t really a big deal I suppose.


Leave a Reply

Categories

