Posted by: learningwoman | March 2, 2008

Tagged, I’m it.

I’ve been tagged by lovely Goodfountain to do a meme. I can’t for the life of me work out how to do the link to her page. All advice welcome. However, her blog can be found at; www.goodfountain.wordpress.com and it’s worth a look.

The rules are; that the rules be posted at the top of the meme, answer the questions about yourself, tag five other people and then let them know they’ve been tagged.

So;

What were you doing ten years ago?

I was a Nanny, working with children from impossibly privileged homes in London. Part of my job was to take them to art galleries, high tea at Fortnum and Masons, ice skating at the Queen’s Way rink etc.. You get the idea. I stayed in castles, mansions, homes ranging over many floors. Then I went home to our flat and sighed with relief. 🙂

Snacks I enjoy:

Bananas, cheese and biscuits, mixed nuts, avocados, strawberries. Oh, and sometimes chocolate peanuts…..

Five things on my ‘To Do’ list today;

Sort out the banking stuff to send off tomorrow morning, ring my Mum for mother’s day, re-colour my hair in the yummy dark mulberry I use, bath the kids and get them into bed early, curl up on the couch with A. to watch the next episode of ‘Torchwood’.

Things I would do if I became a billionaire;

Pay off all debts in our extended families, including mortgages. Buy a house in my home town and in Queensland, travel back and forth to Australia often. Travel anywhere we want to, give some of the money to charities I’m attracted to. A. could stop working immediately and we could spend as much time together as we wanted to, doing fabulous things! There are lots of things but that’s enough for the moment..

Three bad habits;

Leaving things until the last minute and then scrambling, not always tidying up after myself, going to bed really late, even when I know I have to get up early!

Five Places I have Lived;

Northern Territory, Sydney, Queensland (Australia), London and Oxford (UK)

Jobs I’ve had;

Waitress, cook, bar attendant, publisher’s assistant, Nanny, caterer, shop assistant in a fish shop and a clothes shop, post natal co-ordinator for the local branch of the National Childbirth Association, sales person in a betting shop (I was 19 at the time). I’m sure there are others but that’s all I can remember at the moment.

Things people don’t know about me;

I’m constantly battling the urge to lie around and do nothing.                                                 

I dream of one day sitting on a stage in a darkened room and singing soft jazz to an enraptured audience 🙂        

I have a collection of beautiful scarves.

I love, love, love fresh shellfish.

I have an almost inexhaustible capacity for watching comedies. I don’t watch horror movies……..ever.

Whew! That’s it. Everyone I might have tagged has already been tagged, so this branch of the meme ends here. If you’d like to do it though, please feel welcome to. 🙂

Responses

  1. Very interesting! I like learning more about you. Thanks for participating.

    Ok, as for how to do the linking … along the menu bar of the window where you type in a new post, you should see two icons … one looks like a chain link, and the other looks like a broken chain link. The chain link is the hyperlink button. So you highlight the text you want to link to a website, click the link icon and type or past in the URL where it says to. If you change your mind once you do it, you can use the broken link icon to cancel the hyperlink. I hope that makes sense!

    Thanks for participating in the tag!! I’m sorry I don’t comment more often, I’m just not a good commenter. But I faithfully read.

  2. Thanks Goodfountain, I’ll give it another try. I’m glad you come to read 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

