Posted by: learningwoman | March 1, 2008

First reflexology assessment and exhaustion

After staying up late last night to finish typing up my case study notes so far, I went to bed absolutely shattered. I hadn’t slept much the other night, so I fell into bed and into a deep sleep immediately.

Not for long though. At  five am, I woke up to find that I was already standing up and running to the boys’ room. I’d heard a scream and leapt up before I’d even opened my eyes. Funny what the parenting instinct can make you do…

Unfortunately for me, I’d gone to sleep last night with my earphones in, listening to Paul McKenna’s CD and it wasn’t until I was halfway to Z. that I realised I was trailing my MP3 player behind me, dangling from my ears and tangling around my legs!

Luckily, he was fine, he’d just dropped his water bottle, so I gave it back to him and dragged my adrenalin soaked body back to bed, heart beating fast.

It was my first reflexology assessment today, with a client brought in by the school for the purpose. The idea was to conduct the treatment as though they were paying for it, while the teacher looked on and assessed us, followed by her collecting feedback from them privately.

I set up the room, organised my consultation sheet and aftercare leaflet, wipes, little bin, cream and then waited for my client to be shown in.

She was a young woman, slender and friendly and we clicked straight away. I welcomed her, helped her into the upright reflexology chair and began the consultation. When that was done, I leaned the chair back, reassuring her that it only went back just so far and she was in no danger of falling.

Then I began her treatment. It felt fluid and easy and she was very relaxed. At the end, when she was drinking the glass of water I’d brought, she volunteered some feedback, all of which was very positive and I was glad. Later our teacher gave us further feedback and apparently, my client had been impressed and had very much enjoyed the experience. She hugged me as she left. It was altogether a very positive and excellent time.

So, my case study notes are up to date, my assessment was successful and I feel relieved and happy. Also totally exhausted now.

When I got home, I bathed the kids while A. made us a beautiful dinner, which we sat and ate together, exchanging information about our day and now A. and S. are watching Chelsea play football on the TV.

Mother’s day tomorrow. S. has already asked me what I’d like for breakfast. Maybe that means I’ll get to sleep in tomorrow morning, while A. gets up with the boys..

In the meantime, I think I’ll lie down on the couch for a little while until I can gather up the energy to climb the stairs… 🙂 

Responses

  1. Good for you, it must be a good feeling to help people with their health. I love reflexology and found it to be useful many times in my life.

  2. Thank you Sharon, I do enjoy it and of course, I love having treatments myself too 🙂

  3. Nice blog. Good luck in your work.

  4. Thanks Kevin 🙂

  5. Hello learningwoman,

    What a lovely reflexology story! Sounds like a very good day in your life.

    Did you have likewise experiences since then? Any progression during the past months?

    Anyway, best wishes from The Netherlands!

    Martijn van Mensvoort.

    PS. In case you’re interested, you can read more about my work on hands & reflexology at: http://www.reflexology-news.com and my blog: reflexology-news.info. I hope you like it!

  6. Hello!
    Very Interesting post! Thank you for such interesting resource!
    PS: Sorry for my bad english, I’v just started to learn this language 😉
    See you!
    Your, Raiul Baztepo


Leave a Reply

Categories

