Posted by: learningwoman | February 3, 2008

Wine is not my friend

I know wine makes me sick and usually I just don’t drink alcohol.

It was A’s sister’s fiftieth birthday party last night though and I’d been in class all day. I figured one glass of wine would be kind of nice……

It was and so was the next one and the next and soon I was laughing uproarously with random family members and friends. I had a great time, it was a lot of fun. They are a lot of fun.

Before I went to bed, I somehow had the presence of mind to drink water and take a couple of paracetamol, so that this morning I wasn’t ill, just a bit delicate and tired. I don’t feel like going to the park though, or making puzzles, or really interacting with anyone. My idea of a good time this morning is to sit quietly here, reading and writing before going for a little lie down and hoping that A. will pick up the slack.

Β It was fun though….. πŸ™‚

Responses

  1. Go with the delicacy. Hide out for a day and pamper yourself… we all deserve an off-day now and then.

  2. Thanks Kate. If only I’d read your comment before A. and I dragged the kids to a packed supermarket to do an enormous amount of shopping! πŸ™‚

  3. I can so relate to this. I have what I call a natural version of antabuse in my system (antabuse is a drug that makes a person sick if they drink alcohol). More than one or two drinks and I get a migraine and my hands and feet ache. Wine is the worst – I can rarely get through a glass before it starts. πŸ˜‰

  4. Try wine without nitrates. I hear the aftereffects are much less. Not that I’d know – one drink and I’m loopy – and that’s where I stop. But I have a friend who gets migraines if she drinks wine with nitrates…

    And now that you’re feeling better, grab a book and do the meme. Or, use it some random day when you want to post but nothing comes to mind. πŸ˜‰


Leave a Reply

Categories

