Posted by: learningwoman | January 29, 2008

The beginning of the weight loss journey

This morning I joined Slimming World. I’m on a mission!

S. asked if we could could walk to school, since the sun was shining for the first time in days and then got himself ready in double-quick time to meet the deadline. It takes half an hour and we have to leave at 8:30am or be late.

So we walked and it was mostly lovely. I say mostly because S. inexplicably slowed down at the door and had to be hurried, Z. started to whinge because I showed him my new pedometer and then wanted to keep it for myself! (You just know he held it part of the way) And I felt crotchety after being up with Z. for part of the night.

As soon as I’d got him into his cot again, at 2am, and myself into bed, I started to have ’emergency dreams’ where Z. was falling from high places as I watched helplessly, or was being stolen and I was running to catch up. Not the most restful sleep I’ve had this week.

Back to the walk to school.

While the beginning of the walk was a bit shaky, it got better as we went along and soon we were into a rhythm. To combat the general feelings of negativity we were experiencing, we decided to take turns telling each other what we felt glad or thankful for. I was glad to be able to send a happy S. into school.

On the way back though, Z. resumed the whinging, I felt breathless up the hills and just discouraged, even though the sun was shining brightly and people were smiling all around us.

I needed some sort of major shift, some change that would make my life feel different, happier, less unnecessarily stressful and the change that would most benefit me and my family, at the moment, is for me to lose weight.

As soon as I’d made the decision, I felt marginally better. There was a class this morning, so I took Z. home, bundled us into the car and off we went.

I’m on a mission. I want to lose three stone by August the 1st. That’s not all the weight I want to lose but I’m setting acheivable goals here.

So, by the time we go on our reconnaisance trip to Australia, I want to be three stone lighter and feeling fabulous!   

My pedometer says I’ve walked 4,300 steps today. The aim is to get to 10,000 but still, that’s not bad considering that some days recently, I doubt whether I’ve made it to 2000!

Wish me luck blogging friends. I’ll let you know how it all works out. 🙂

Responses

  1. Best of luck with the weight loss! What a great goal! I have no doubt that you can do it!! I wish I had some motivation like yours.

  2. Thanks Goodfountain, I need all the encouragement I can get 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

