Posted by: learningwoman | December 4, 2007

My first box of books

Early this morning there was knock at the door and when I opened it, there was a man, swaying under the weight of my first box of books. Yay!!

I made my first order on Thursday evening, after the Open Morning last week and here they are already!

I can’t tell you how exciting it was. When I was a kid, (from 7-12yrs) my parents decided that we’d do without a TV for a while, on the grounds that it was a time waster and our time would be better spent doing other things. I didn’t get it then but I sure do now.

Although, there is that great big TV in the corner of our loungeroom that gets turned on every day after school….. Hmmm.

Anyway, as a result, we read A LOT. Mostly books from the library or Christmas or birthday gifts but every now and then there’d be one of those cataloguey things put into our school bags and Mum and Dad would let us choose a couple of books to send away for.

The day they arrived was always so exciting. I’ve always loved the feel of new books. The crack of the spine as you open them, the pristine pages and then the story. Fantastic!

In these days of internet shopping and routine deliveries, I’d forgotten the excitement of a delivery of new books.

I took them out and sat with Z. on the floor and we looked at all of them. They’re just lovely books. Colourful, intelligent, thoughtful.

Then I packed them all into their separate bags to be given to the people who’d ordered them.

It was a nice morning’s work.

Responses

  1. Books have always been some of my best friends – and escape from the everyday.

    They’re one of the best gifts, in my opinion. After all, you open people up to new worlds.

  2. Receiving deliveries… by mail or by UPS or FEDEX or whatever … is always a lot of fun ! Its like getting a birthday gift and going shopping at the same time….

    Regarding books…. there is a lot of pleasure in reading a real, made of paper and leather, book…. but in many ways it more convenient to read books online… I have read many many books using my PDA…. I download them for free from The Gutenberg Project… and other places…

    Keep up the great work !

  3. Hi BeThisWay 🙂 I love giving and receiving books too.

  4. Thanks for the visit Thom. I’ve never actually read an online book. How behind the times is that? 🙂 Maybe I should give it a go sometime, just for the experience.
    I do love a real paper book though…


Leave a Reply

Categories

