Posted by: learningwoman | December 2, 2007

Domestic Goddess

A. is out with S, Z is asleep and I have just cleaned the fridge.  

What is a Domestic Goddess? It’s what the lovely Nigella Lawson named one of her cookbooks and every now and then I wonder….

I love to cook, I’m pretty nurturing, the plants on my windowsill are green and healthy, I make things with the kids and decorate our home with them, our house is welcoming and smells good. Do these things make me a Domestic Goddess? I can hear my friends and family laughing hysterically already..

Because I’m messy.

I try, I really do but at the end of the day, there are piles of paper on the table, folded washing on the stairs, toys strewn around the loungeroom, blankets flung across the couch, more washing, waiting to be carried into the laundry,  more toys on the floor of the boys’ bedroom, towels on the bathroom floor, books piled up next to my bed, etc, etc, etc..

Lots of people I know do it as they go and their houses are neat and beautiful no matter what time of the day it is.

Even, and this is what makes me hang my head in shame, even the ones who have small children, the same age as Z.

Without A’s help, we would descend into chaos in days.

I’d like to be able to say that it’s because I spend all my time playing with the kids, or that I’m too busy studying, or whipping up fabulous meals or saving the world or something but I think it’s just that it isn’t my highest priority.

I like tidiness, I think better when things are in the right place, but I like having the freedom to roll around on the floor with my babies, having pillow fights and then leaving it all in a crazy mess while we run upstairs to the bath. I get some sort of strange kick out of leaving the reading books across the floor, to trip over later, just because I can.

I’m not justifying my tendency to messiness, just observing it.

Maybe it’s because my mother is so very tidy, or maybe it’s just because I’m lazy. Either way, I’d say that the answer to my question is probably ‘no’. 🙂

Responses

  1. My darling.

    If you change “loungeroom” to “living room” and “boys” to “boy’s” I could have written this post.

    Just not as well.

  2. 🙂 Thanks. It’s nice to know I’m not alone in this.

  3. Tidy takes too much away from fun, I think. I try to live within 15 minutes of tidy-enough-for-guests, and accept that.

    Perfection would be too much work, and besides – can you imagine the pressure on your children of having a perfect mother? Much healthier this way, all around.

  4. I’m not tidy either! There are many of us. We should form a club.

  5. Hey there! You’re doing a lot better than most. You keep your plants alive (mine are all dead), I hate the children’s crafts and make them keep them in their room while I put up art! AND I’m messy! My ex-husband used to say that a tidy person is a sign of a psychopathic personality! You’re doing great.
    Kx


Leave a Reply

Categories

