Posted by: learningwoman | December 1, 2007

Reflexology day

A full day of Reflexology today, while A. took the boys to the park, the school Christmas fair and a friend’s birthday party.

A. works in the evenings. He got home at about midnight last night and I was sitting at the computer (Really? No!) wrestling with the photobook website. It wasn’t the fault of the website, it was more the fact that I hadn’t really thought any of it out.

I want a book for each of my boys that they can carry into their future. A book filled with photos of them and the people who love them. I don’t want it to be an ordinary album though, I want it to be a sort of story. I just haven’t worked out exactly what I want to write, or what order I want the photos in…..or what photos I want to include………

It has to be done by the 11th.

So, we went to bed at about 2.30am. It wasn’t finished, we were just tired.

At seven, an avalanche of tiny thrashing limbs and fluting voices forced us to wakefulness and we stumbled into the day, reminding ourselves over and over again to enjoy the moment. Not so easy sometimes…..although, they’re pretty cute……….and I love those huge, soft, morning hugs and they had those beautiful, mischevious grins on their little faces, and…..oh okay, it was pretty nice. Need some coffee though.

It was a bit like those dreams, you know the ones where you can only move in slow motion, as though you’re stuck in slowly setting toffee?

I finally made it out of the door, bag and books in hand, washed, dressed, even had a bit of make-up on to cover the black circles under my eyes! Forgot my lunch, remembered the mobile phone, dropped a pen in at the last minute….

A. had pushed a plate of vegemite toast and a banana into my hand as I got into the car, and I ate as I drove, crumbs falling all down the front of my top, to be discovered later, when I was in the middle of a discussion about safe practice.

It was a good day, even though half the class were missing due to illness or holiday.

The first part was devoted to Health and Safety, boring but necessary while after lunch, we did practicals.

I just love a school where part of the requirement is that I lie down in a zero-gravity chair and let people practice their reflexology skills on my feet!

I’m starting to feel much more confident now, about doing treatments. We have a good teacher, she’s patient and kind and helpful. It’s all starting to fall into place. We’ve got a few months before we’ll be let loose on the general public but I think we’re heading in the right direction.

I can actually begin to see myself as a proper reflexologist. Very cool!

I need to fit in another five or six case studies before Christmas. I’ll have to organise that on Monday. In the meantime, there’s always my family to practice on.

Now A. is asleep on the couch, exhausted from lack of sleep and a day spent with our boys, who were extra lively with the excitement of having their dad to themselves for the whole day!

S. is determined not to go to sleep yet, on his one ‘staying up late’ night of the week.

I suspect I’ll be carrying him up the stairs later.

Leave a Reply

Categories

