Posted by: learningwoman | November 25, 2007

English Accents

Our boys have English accents. Unsurprising when they were born here and have lived their short lives in England but still…..

After having grown up hearing an Aussie drawl all around me, I am still faintly startled when S. asks if we can go to the ‘pork’. (‘park’ …………………I’m exaggerating but you get the idea)

I have an Australian accent, softened by years of living here and have been mistaken for someone coming from New Zealand, South Africa and sometimes even from the US! (Not that I object but are you kidding me?)

A. on the other hand, is a true Londoner. Think Big Ben, London Taxis, Petticoat Lane and the kids’ movie ‘Bedknobs and Broomsticks.’

He has a fantastic accent! It was one of the things that first attracted me to him. (How shallow is that?!) It sounds Cockney to me, although he insists that technically it isn’t, seeing as how he wasn’t born within the sound of Bow Bell. (Church bell in London)

Our children’s accent then, is a strange hybrid of both and nothing like either.  Yet another thing about them that makes me smile.

Responses

  1. I completely get what you are saying about accents. I’m french Quebecois and my hubby is Anglo Ontarian (Northern) and Metis. My children have mannerism from both my softened accent and his Metis background.

    Love your blog LearningWoman!

  2. I’m totally fascinated by accents, whenever I go home I am slightly shocked at how thick even the newsreaders accents are when years ago I thought they spoke without one.

    My accent is probably quite like your boys, australian and english all rolled into one with the aussies thinking I sound english and the brits thinking i’m foregin but not too foregin… eg “have you just returned from travelling then?” it always leads to nice long conversations with random people on the merits of australia and so many questions about what the hell i’m doing here when i could be in the sun.

  3. Thanks for your comments. I enjoyed reading them 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

