Posted by: learningwoman | November 23, 2007

Eucalyptus tree in England.

This morning I looked out of the loungeroom window into our garden and saw strong morning sunlight on the leaves of the eucalyptus tree I planted a few years ago.

Suddenly I was a kid, in the Northern Territory Australian bush, camping, gathering wood for the breakfast fire. There was the stubble of burnt grass under my feet and the heat was not yet burning my skin.

The air was alive with flying things but the mosquitoes were silent, driven away by the sun. My brother was lying on the dry dirt, tracing pictures with a stick, digging occasionally, to find an escaping ant.

In the top of the eucalyptus tree, I could see green ant nests and the ants, with their green bums, scurrying in and out of them. The smell of bacon cooking in the open air. My Dad striding around our camp, getting ready for a walk.

It was so vivid.

I could smell the fresh, familiar smells of the outback and my soul keened with a yearning for home so strong, I was shocked by it.

Responses

  1. I just experienced it with you. Thank you for sharing y our memory.

  2. You’re welcome, thank you for reading it 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

